Ever wondered how to build longbow arrows?

What's Hot
skunkwerxskunkwerx Frets: 6881
No? Excellent, I will show you anyway. 

Bit of a pointless thread but I thought I'd leave this here and update as I progress through making a set of wooden arrows, in case anyone is bored and finds it interesting as I'll drop some nuggets of information throughout if you're into history :) 

I'll write some background first.. 

I've been shooting modern 'olympic style' recurve bows for nigh on 22 years. The arrows used with modern bows are aluminium, or as I use, carbon wrapped aluminium. Everything is within tight tolerances and very consistent. 

Arrows for Longbows are traditionally made from wood. 

Our archery club president recently passed away, and he was a traditional guy. He mainly shot 'English' longbows, (actually invented by the Welsh), and upon his passing passed on to the club the majority of his gear with the wish that it stays within the club and is used. 

I'd never shot a traditional bow before but always wanted to, and I thought I'd try my best to do him proud. 

Enter the longbow and Terry's old arrows: 

A beautiful creation made by Gary Evans, a Welsh bowyer. 

The longbow is probably most famous for its effective use by the English and Welsh at Agincourt, Crecys and Poitiers. 

At the battle of Agincourt in 1415, reports were that the British army consisted of 6000 men, primarily archers, whereas the French army had (reports vary) anywhere between 12,000 to 30,000 men. The latter sustaining much heavier losses compared to the British. 

Many things, tactics, terrain, conditions etc contributed to the British victory but the skill of the archers was a significant factor. 

Those days, the longbow had to be powerful. The average draw weight (which is how 'heavy' the bow string is to pull back) would be anywhere from 100lbs to 160lbs. 

Bows found on the Mary Rose some hundred years after these battles weighed in at around 150lbs.