There's always one . . .

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72908
    DefaultM said:
    I’ve got a PRS CE that’s like this. I’m not very good at describing sound but I’ve tried at least 5 sets in it and they all sound… rubbery? Mushy?
    It's the guitar.

I know the anti-wood brigade will roll their eyes, but it really is... some guitars just don't resonate well and it doesn't really matter what pickups you put in, they will never sound right. It's not a "tonewood" thing - it can be a guitar made from perfectly well respected wood species, just that the exact pieces chosen just don't sound good. Or the opposite - some cheap guitars made from supposedly inferior wood sound amazing.

If you've got a dead-sounding guitar, I would consider EMGs - contrary to some opinions I don't think they sound 'sterile', but they do have their own distinctive sound and are more unaffected by the guitar than passive ones in my experience.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 9reaction image Wisdom
  • Paul_CPaul_C Frets: 7903

Update: I just had a brief play before my daughter started snarling at me ;)  and I think it sounds a lot better with the Monty's in.

I'll get a better idea on Sunday (when I'll have the house to myself), but it's certainly an improvement.
    "I'll probably be in the bins at Newport Pagnell services."  fretmeister
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FezFez Frets: 538