Lipstick pickups

What's Hot
ICBMICBM Frets: 72571
I have no experience with these really - I've played many guitars with them in (almost all Danelectros) but never directly compared them or replaced any.

I have a Danelectro Convertible - single Lipstick. I like it for its cool lo-fi and slightly trashy vibe, but the pickup sounds a bit... tinny. I know they're supposed to, sort of - but I just don't love it. It also hums sometimes. I'm not that bothered about it usually, but it's nice to have the option of it not doing in some places with particularly noisy electrics. (Open mics with low lights over the stage are a bad one.)

So... are there any humbucking Lipstick pickups? Not the dual Lipsticks, a single pickup - either side-by-side or stacked (and yes I know these sound different!) - which looks the same and fits a Danelectro. I can't find one online but perhaps I'm missing something.

If not, do higher-quality replacements (eg Duncan) actually sound much better? There are clips which appear to indicate they might, but not necessarily in the way I want - I'm really looking for something a bit chunkier rather than a "better tin can", if you see what I mean...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• The 'Blues Tubes' Axesrus sell are surprisingly decent - Alnico magnets iirc, but I think they are Strat size rather than a straight replacement for the Dano one. I've not tried the Duncan ones, but did try some Kent Armstrong ones which were good, but tbh not a major leap from the stock Dano ones in truth.