A what's this about and a what kind of amp question.

rlwrlw Frets: 4701
OK - total newbie, very much at the bottom of the steep slope.  Always wanted to play but never believed I could but had a WTF moment and went for it.  Now the owner of a Epiphone dot (natural and gorgeous) and an Orange Micro Crush 3 practise amp.

It's a combined question really and it goes;

To get a nice clear trebly sound through the amp, I use the bridge pickup with it set to it's most bright.  To get more, I can use the gain control and this helps quite a bit, but with the addition of some noise - a sort of crackly hum which is stilled by flattening the strings.  If I use the overdrive as well, the noise increases quite a bit and does not go away at all, unless the volume is turned off.

I assume the noise is feedback and that this is a characteristic of the hollow body.  Does this sound correct, or do I, potentially, have a wiring issue?  Or should it all be quiet if the guitar is untouched?  There is no correlation between noise/hum and placement of me or the amp I should add.

Leading into the second question, the amp is fine for what it's being used as, which is very much a learning tool, but when the moment arrives (and I can feel it already as I seem to have early AAS) I'm not sure what I should be looking for.  The dot is not the brightest sounding guitar as far as I can make out so what can I do to enhance that side of things amp wise.   I have been looking at the smaller Blackstar and Marshalls, as well as the Yamaha blues version and Vox offerings.   If I had to name a sound I would aim for, then Peter Green and BB King come to mind. (Or EC on Reconsider Baby).

I know that there is no substitute for going into the shop and trying them out, which I will do, but given my excess of enthusiasm over skill, (and the shame of not being able to play like a pro after three weeks...............) a few pointers for what to look for and what to avoid would be very helpful.