So school me on pa systems

What's Hot
close2uclose2u Frets: 997
edited January 2015 in Live
In my current band I seem to have become responsible for sourcing our first pa.
See my recent discussions.
I am a total pa noob however.
I don't understand :
The technical vocabulary,
The compatability issues,
The good from the bad,
The electronic considerations,
The dos and don'ts,
Etc etc etc

The band is a 4 piece, 3 vocals (1 main, 2 backing). Our needs are modest to start with.

We want a system within the next few weeks. I've had a couple of offers on here. I've seen loads on local classified sites. I keep passing info on to the band. I'd like to be more informed so I can filter what I send them and include additional advice too.
And for my own learning on what a PA system is, does, and how to set it up and use it.

Thanks.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• First off, my approach is threefold, 
    1get the best you can afford 
    2 learn how to use it well, 
    3 buy a system you can grow with.
    Some things look great with a huge amount of spec but often has things a regular band will probably never use, such as 6 Aux outs. 
    Basics I look for in a desk for my band ( a 5pc band with 3-4 vocals and keys) are at least 12 mic channels, always think if you need 7-8 channels, get a 12, 10-11 channels get a 16 channel desk. 
    A good Eq with high and low and at least a swept midrange Eq. Treble middle and bass don't work very well when you start to use acoustic instruments. By this I mean a mid range control where you can cut and boost a frequency that may be causing a problem in the mix. 
    I like Allen and Heath mixers due to their sound quality, I am sure other guys prefer Yamaha, Spirit or Peavey all do a good job as do others.