¿? ¿? ~ 1x12 or 2x12 ~ open-back or closed-back ~ ¿? ¿?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• ChrisMusicChrisMusic Frets: 1133
    Thanks ICBM, a good smile and a laugh, just what I needed today    :)

now, about that burning pain...

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ChrisMusicChrisMusic Frets: 1133
    edited February 2015
    So does the larger cabinet volume, or tuning of some of these cabinet designs, change the frequency response or polar pattern, apart from extending the low frequency capabilities ?

I can understand how it may affect the loading and acoustic impedance of the cone somewhat.

As I meant to say in the OP, I am a total noob in guitar cab design and performance issues, and hungry to learn from the experience here.

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72704
    So does the larger cabinet volume, or tuning of some of these cabinet designs, change the frequency response or polar pattern, apart from extending the low frequency capabilities ?
    Yes, definitely.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• ICBM said:
    Yes, definitely.
    A marvellous economy of words there @ICBM    ;)

Care to elucidate ?

Pretty please  :o3

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72704
    As in, yes the cabinet volume or tuning does change the frequency response and polar pattern as well as just extending the low frequency capabilities.

:)

Exactly *how* is somewhat more complicated… ;)