Stimpsons TE52

What's Hot

Comments

• OK... So no further progress as yet, but I am doing plenty of research.

I'm currently trying to work out the best combination of Pots, caps and pickup. ANY advice is appreciated!

Pickup- 
    Catswhisker TP90: Apparently it's tappable, so I can install a push/push pot & still get that "true" tele single coil twang at the push of a button.
    Oil City Alligator- I've been an admirer of Ash's work for a while now & am sure this'd be a good investment.

Pots-
    500k/250K? Push/push or pushpull? Log or linear? 
    I'm THINKING 250k(trad tele I believe), pushpush volume, standard 250 tone, log for both.

caps- 
    I need these for the Esquire mod, but I'm a biologist not a physicist, so am a bit lost! I think I'll find a good wiring diagram online & follow that, but will the extra grunt of a P90 mean I need to change the values?

ARRGGHH!! (I'm best doing my thinking NOW- the C-section is booked for 27/3/15 so as of that date I won't have a functional brain).
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8713
    Pots: I'd put the push/push on the tone rather than volume pot. To my mind pickup tapping is more associated with tone than volume. Also, you tend to change the volume quickly when boosting for a solo, or even a short phrase, and it's not good if you tap the coil in your hurry and cut the volume you're trying to boost (or boost the volume you're trying to cut).  Push/pull may be easier to manufacture, and hence easier to buy, but I find them a pain to use.  However you do get a visual of whether it's on or off.

Caps: .22 is a good starting point. The actual value needed is going to depend on your pot values, choice of pickups, and personal preference.  I tend to experiment with cap values once the other variables are decided.

Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom