Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Chalky's Guitarist Theory - profound or bollocks?

What's Hot

Comments

• ChalkyChalky Frets: 6811
    So anyone who ever plucked a guitar string is a 'guitarist'? Bit of a wide definition. Does it help the discussion?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • LoobsLoobs Frets: 3832
    A little A, a little B but mostly C.
  • TonyRTonyR Frets: 908
    I'm definitely in camps A and D.

I started playing the guitar back in 1982 when I was 17, had a few lessons but gave them up because I wanted to play everything from The Jam, The Clash and The Pistols immediately and it just wasn't happening. Oh the impetulence of youth!

Then in 1985 I was given a Cimar Strat copy and I began again, teaching myself this time. I bought some sheet music with chord charts for popular songs at the time and started playing them. As I got a bit better I bought an Aria Pro II TA30 (ES335 copy) which I really liked but I traded it a couple of years later for a Rickenbacker 1998PT Pete Townshend Limited Edition (which I still have). 

That's when it all started... 

My father sold me ( some dodgy deal he did "down the pub") a 1970s Telecaster Deluxe, I absolutely hated the guitar, it was like a bloomin' plank, I swapped it for a lovely Charvel ST Custom Strat - looking back it's no wonder the shop were willing to do the deal! 

I then bought a Rickenbacker 360/12WB (as I always wanted a 12 string Rickie) from Alpha Music in Leeds (anyone remember that place?!). After getting it home and giving it the once over I found the serial number had been scratched off... :( Needless to say the guitar was returned to the shop and funnily enough it closed down not long after - I think they relocated to York.