Hughes Kettner Tubemiester 36

What's Hot
HI all,

A while back I posted a question about this amp and whether it could be used successfully at a gig.

I've learned a lot since making that post and I realise I didn't really ask the question right :)

So, is anyone here using a Tubemeister 36 happily as a gigging amp?

Here's how I hope to use it.

Our usual venue will be village hall/rugby club type sized venues.

I'd rather not put the amp thru the PA. I'd rather it does the job on it's own.

I tend to play clean for about 50% of the time. I say this because generally I've heard that amps can cut it on the dirty channel but struggle to get the head room on the clean channel. I wonder if this is the same with the TM 36.

I'm not sure this makes much different but we play covers. Mainly 70's and 80's rock.

Also the drummer uses and electric kit rather than an acoustic kit.

Thanks
Mike

PS: I'm still learning so if there is a question I should have asked or a fact I should have shared, please let me know. Ta :)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• KebabkidKebabkid Frets: 3340
    edited March 2015
    I had one for a couple of years. They're good and definitely loud enough for gigs with enough clean headroom too.

The overdrive is difficult to dial in as the EQ controls work in an odd way. The clean, however, is good and takes pedals really well. I stayed on that channel and preferred my OD pedals instead. As the rest of the amp/channels was becoming redundant, I decided to swap it for a Fender Deluxe Reverb - my favorite amp of all time.

There have been some threads on this amp in the past. I'll try and find them.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • phase3phase3 Frets: 41
    Pretty much same here....