Gigs can be so depressing

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• Dave_VaderDave_Vader Frets: 360
    Danny1969;628175" said:
    I've said it before it's very difficult to play 100% originals at first and sell enough tickets to fill a venue. So most bands including the original bands I was in did a mix of covers and originals until the original songs were well know enough to enable original material only gigs. This is the way the Beatles built up their fan base, and Van Halen and just about every band over the years. To think you can demand peoples attention from the off with 100 % original material is frankly conceited or at best naive  

I think you also get out of music what you put into it, yeah you can get away with being a shit covers band but it's no surprise the really good one's are very well paid and rightly so

This was the case still back when i started playing in bands late 80s, early 90s, we all did covers and some of our own stuff. The massive polarisation of covers bands and originals is bizarre and not helpful.

But I am with the OP, I have sat in my local and watched a band of dentists play out of time, out of tune, uninspired dross covers, and then listened incredulously as the quite sizeable crowd cheer and ask for more. No explaining it really...
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ReverendReverend Frets: 5002
    monquixote;625629" said:
    ChrisMusic said:

Same as it ever was...

I have often felt that success is inversely proportionate to talent.One small part of my original disillusionment with the music industry.Little changes, unfortunately.

Same as it ever was...

Totally disagree. 

Of all the bands I played with on the Camden circuit nearly all of them that were exceptional got signed (Magic Numbers, Hard-Fi, Darkness)
    What band was that?
    Steve from Hard Fi was in my old band for a while and half the first album was about my old flat mate.
  • monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17632