Looking To Buy a Gibson Les Paul - help!

What's Hot
smudge_ladsmudge_lad Frets: 672

Hey guys,

Looking for a little help and guidance on what I should be looking out for when researching a purchase of a Gibson Les Paul. I've been playing an Epi LP Special Edt since 1999, which is a great guitar, but recently purchased a Gibson ES-339 and have been blown away by the quality of the instrument, even compared to my USA Tele - it's just awesome.

So, I've decided I really need to get my hands on a Gibson Les Paul too, but I'm not really sure where to start, what to look out for and what to avoid. I always see people with gripes about this year's model or that year's model, and while I never seem to be overly bothered by things like neck profile/thickness/shape etc, it would still be helpful to have a good starting point. I don't know the difference between a "standard" or a "traditional" or even what the big jump then is to the R models.

I always thought that I'd buy brand new when I did get round to buying one, and I'm not ruling this out with a deposit/finance option, but I see what I think are lot of really good prices for some great condition 2nd hand guitars as well, but as above, not really sure what I should be possibly avoiding.

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Keir

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LescasterLescaster Frets: 107
    I'd seriously look into finding a secondhand R8 or try to find a new old stock 2013/14. You'll have a classic looking, feeling and sounding, quality Les Paul which you'll happily keep for a lifetime.
  • ParkerParker Frets: 960

....and then buy my Traditional in the Classifieds! ;) #