Should I replace my 6505+ combo

Hi All,

Forgive for I am a relative noob to all this.

My dilemma is that I have a 6505+ 112 combo which I run pedals through and I have never been 100% happy with the sound I get.

I play in a covers band and somehow feel its not quite the right amp sometimes. The sound I get with pedals running through it always sounds too shrill and fizzy. Even without pedals, the cleans are just too fizzy at the top end and doesn't stay very clean even with the gain set to 0.5. This is with Epi Les Paul. The only way I can get it half decent clean is either rolling back the volume on the guitar and adjusting the tone so the top end is less.

With its current setup, arpeggiated notes sound passable on clean but a little thin sounding. Once you start strumming, it breaks up and starts sounding mushy.

I get most of my dirt from pedals (Bad Monkey, Fuzz Factory, AX3000G multiFX) and I get the best sound from the Bad Monkey as that seems to tame alot of fizz. The Fuzz factory sounds really thin and fizzy top end.

So is it a case of wrong amp? Or can can I do something basic like swapping out some pre-amp tubes?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• It's not really a clean platform kind of amp.  The cleans on it are excellent in my opinion, but is really designed for a bit of verb, delay and chorus, not drive pedals.  

Get a footswitch.  Then you can (IIRC) switch between clean and crunch modes.  Use the lead for the heavier stuff.  

Also, epi pickups are not really known for being very good, so that could be part of the problem.  However, if you're after a clean platform amp, get a Hot Rod Deluxe or similar.  It'll have excellent and versatile cleans (more versatile than the 6505+) and take pedals well.  Also, the multi effects MAY be affecting your sound, though I wouldn't know for sure.  

The 6505+ is not known for being fizzy, that's for sure - it's a 5105 in a different shell.