Birch ply cab

What's Hot
I'm quite happy with making a finger jointed pine cab so wondered what are
A) the benefit of an 18mm birch ply cab over an 18mm pine cab
B) the best joints to use on a birch ply cab
C) the pros and cons of covering a birch ply cab or is it no different to rounding off the edges of a pine cab and sticking on the covering?

Wisdom please from the experienced cab builders! :)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• paulnb57paulnb57 Frets: 3082
    Surprised there are no replies, I have no experience with using Birch Ply as you suggest, but my gut feeling would be to treat it the same as anything else, I would finger joint it if I had (and I sooo wish I had!) the ability. I would also round the corners the same a "normal" timber and cover as usual.... I guess that ply would be more stable than pine, less likely to split, but would have different tonal properties......but be stronger........
    Stranger from another planet welcome to our hole - Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock 'n' roll

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72734
    I've only ever built a hardwood cab, so I can't comment on the jointing. I used mitre joints with internal battens so it looked neat.

On the tone properties, ply sounds tighter and punchier than pine, all else being equal. Pine is 'sweeter' but can have more odd overtones. Ply is still more resonant and vibrant than particle-board or MDF though.

Generally I would avoid pine if you're going for heavier distortion sounds, although it can sound very nice for cleans and light overdrive.

Don't try to make the baffle from pine whichever you choose, always ply.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4307