Help need Help thickening up Acoustic/Vocal sound

SambostarSambostar Frets: 8745

Singer is high and the acoustic is high also.  I'm loathe to plug into an amp and add delay or anything for a small room in a pub of maybe 20-30 people, it sounds OK when I'm singing and backing, but it's way too much high register when it only the guitar and her, although her singing is great the guitar and her voice are fighting.  It's sounds OK on the Classical also, which is a fuller, richer sound with her singing, but as I bite my nails, it's not really loud enough.  Am I making sense?

I have no experience of these acoustic duet things and I don't really like steel string acoustics to be honest as they all sound jangling to me and prefer classicals. 

What should I do?  It's all there, but I can't sing along to everything to fill in the frequencies because for starters I ain't that good.  Been practicing in a big open room, deliberately to get it as dry and thing as possible in terms of worst case scenario. 

How could we thicken up the sound in general? 

Any advice much appreciated.  I'm not used to this and trying to sing, play and fill and keep everything together is enough to deal with, without worrying about frequencies and richness.

Backdoor Children Of The Sock
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72447
    Leave your strings on for much longer than you normally would. Old strings sound much fuller and softer - you have to keep them clean though, or they will corrode.

Use your fingers not a pick, if you aren't already - it gives a thicker tone. If you're not used to fingerpicking, hold your hand as if there's a pick there but just hit the strings with your fingers.

What guitar are you using? Some are very much fuller-sounding than others...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski