Reaper/recording idiots guide required

What's Hot
Hi all,

Right - first off I am new to all this recording lark - have dabbled in the past, but that was largely on an old Tascam 4 track cassette machine when at school!

Having been inspired by the challenges on the Making Music section of this very board - and given the fact that I am not playing in a band of any sorts at present I thought I would try to give solo recording another shot. 

As such I have just downloaded Reaper and had a click about (looks better than my old 4 track!) I have even managed to download a backing track for the Solo of the Month challenge from SoundCloud and put it into Reaper (not bad for 20 mins work on a Sat morning!)

However - I am now stuck... I have no idea how to connect my guitar to my PC to get a sound. 

I have a pretty basic set up: Guitar - pedal board - amp (blackstar HT5). I tried running the emulated output from the HT5 into a cheap little Tascam iXZ interface thing I have, then running that into the PC - but I can't get a sound! Not sure if this is an appropriate interface (is it just for ios devices?) -  or is there some other issue that immediately jumps out at people as a problem?

What is the best way of getting connected in a straightforward (and preferably cost effective) manner. At present I am not too fussed on getting the 'best' sound quality (I am sure that will change) - any (vaguely guitar like) sound would do!

Help would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Chris
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1636
    edited September 2015

Hi Chris, you really need an Audio Interface but anything remotely useful is going to set you back 70 quid or more. If you CAN/will spend that, look at the Alesis iO2* (£70ish) or better, the Steinberg UR22 at about £100.