Anyone have any advice on aging an anodized jazzmaster guard?

What's Hot
nickb_boynickb_boy Frets: 1689
edited October 2015 in Making & Modding
I've started the process of a jazzmaster build with the aid of GSPbasses expert luthier skills. The body and neck are now ready so my attention is turning to the hardware.

I'm looking to fit an anodized guard but want the guitar to have a reliced finish so don't want a shiny gold finish standing out. I know I will get the responses of just play it hard or I don't like relic finishes but thought it was worth an ask.

I've had some experience with aging nickel and plastic components but never anything anodized. Does anyone know the best method to get this sort of finish:

Cheers!
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I think you can probably buy one... WD do a a nice looking gold guard.... There's also an American place on eBay who I bought a nice aged black guard for the ill-fated 70s jag... Let me try and find out who it was - I reckon they'd do one for you.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Right. After MUCH searching, it was Portland music. Really well done. Worth emailing them to see if they can do you one - they were excellent. portlandmusic@comcast.net
  • maybe @Jookyjr could ask his dad, he might know

@Wez is pretty clued up too. 

Whats the spec on the guitar mate?
    The Bigsby was the first successful design of what is now called a whammy bar or tremolo arm, although vibrato is the technically correct term for the musical effect it produces. In standard usage, tremolo is a rapid fluctuation of the volume of a note, while vibrato is a fluctuation in pitch. The origin of this nonstandard usage of the term by electric guitarists is attributed to Leo Fender, who also used the term “vibrato” to refer to what is really a tremolo effect.
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16750