How old does wood have to be

What's Hot
To make a body? My father in law cuts down trees as part of his job. He has a major wood store of huge logs that he splits for the wood burners on an estate he manages.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• mgawmgaw Frets: 5283
    I am no expert on these things but my understanding is that it is more the "conditioning"/"seasoning" of the wood that is important rather than age alone.......many guitar builders will kiln dry the wood to get the moisture content down to the desired level.....there should be plenty of info available on line......if not kiln dried it would be a case of the wood arriving at the same point over time.....any decent Tonewood supplier would probably advise you on how best acheive this.

Sounds interesting though...i know there are a couple of vids on youtube showing the process from tree selection to the final guitar build..Bourgeois guitar has a lot of info on their website about Tonewoods.
  • SkodadadSkodadad Frets: 509
    We were just talking about guitars and he mentioned the wood he had. He is adamant that some of the tree trunks he has are big enough to get bodies out of and if his back garden wood store is anything to go by I believe him. They have a room they store the wood in before using to dry it out (has a large wood burner in it) but by that stage they are split or chainsawed to manageable pieces. I'll go to the estate next time I'm down at in laws and take some photos. I showed him some photos from this section and he was very impressed.
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33824
    Seasoning wood for guitar building is beyond the skill of most folks and many luthiers, which is why luthier wood supply companies can charge so much for a piece of wood, which if it was construction grade would be worth pennies.