Is a Mac pro 3.1 any use still

What's Hot
SkodadadSkodadad Frets: 509
edited October 2015 in Studio & Recording
I recently got shut of a high spec Pc I used for my business leaving myself with just a laptop until I picked up a mac. I found a cheap mac pro a few days ago but it needs a few upgrades. It has 2 x quad core xeon cpu and a measley 6gb ram. I'd like to use it with a Midi USB keyboard I have to create some backing tracks (I'm much better on a keyboard than guitar ) and eventually connect the guitar as I have a line 6 pod 2 that I believe has midi capabilities. I have used Cubase before but am pretty much a total novice having only used it for voices to play. Is the Mac pro going to be underpowered as I don't want to go into it for big £££. I presume I'll need some kind of midi to USB cable for the line 6? Cheers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10434

My studio (professional studio) runs on an old Mac Pro duel Xeon from 2006 and has 6Gb ram. We have recorded and mastered many many sessions on this including work for major label artist, working on as many as 90 odd tracks audio all with plugins and It's been rock solid. 

If you think you can get by with 90 odd tracks of 24 \ 48 you should be Ok with it :)
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • SkodadadSkodadad Frets: 509
    Haha that pretty much tells me everything I need to know thanks.
  • sweepysweepy Frets: 4190
    edited October 2015
    Mac 3.1 runs everything currently available, so fill it up with RAM, pop an SSD in as a Boot drive and fill the rest with SATA drives and you are good  to go :)
    As for interfaces, check out Focusrite Safire Firewire interfaces, bulletproof, full Midi and a flexible starting point for expansion via ADAT etc