metronome

What's Hot
kinkin Frets: 1015
Probably a total noob question but here goes.. I keep seeing people suggest playing to a metronome is a good idea, never tried it, so...

When playing a scale to a metronome, are you supposed to play each note on the click of each beat?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33845
    There are many ways to do it.
    It is normal to count quarter notes with the metronome for a 4/4 signature.

Like a lot of jazz-influenced guys I usually set the metronome to half time and count it on the 2 & 4.
    This allows you to swing with the click.
  • richhrichh Frets: 453
    You can do, then you can progress to playing 2 notes per click then 4 notes.  Doesn't matter too much, as long as you just gradually ramp up the speed methodically.  Probably best to progress slowly so you have accuracy, otherwise you may end up playing fast by not accurately.

If you have a metronome with a choice of sounds, try the different options out, or if using a computer based metronome, you can get it to trigger your choice of sounds, with accents.  So, if you're playing in 3/4 time for example, you can make beat 1 stronger than 2 and 3.
  • kinkin Frets: 1015
     I'm going to have to look into learning more about time signatures first then.

@octatonic in your example, I would be playing each note of the scale on every second and fourth beat?

@richh in your example, I would be playing each note on the first beat?

Thanks to both of you
  • Or you could practice your poly-rhythms and play 5 notes for every 4 clicks. 
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
    Right , so now I need to go and look up poly- rhythm's too, thanks for that..I think :)
  • To be a little more helpful. Play something you want to practice, a scale, a song, whatever and tap your foot as you play.

Set the metronome to click where your foot taps.
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom