Les Paul wiring replacement help needed

I have an issue with my treble volume on my 57 LPC when it's all the way down some small sound still comes through. 

Any recommendations on replacing the lot, where to get the parts from, how to do it etc...? I keep hearing about 50s wiring being the way forward.

Here is current form:

Total noob at this sort of stuff needing help please!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72758
    It's probably a bad connection at the ground end of the pot track. This can happen when the terminal gets bent back to solder to the pot casing - the terminal can lift off the track board slightly. (Sometimes bad enough that it doesn't make contact at all and the volume only goes from full down to about half.)

Take the pot out far enough that you can get at the terminals - you shouldn't need to desolder it - and squeeze the ground terminal firmly onto the track board with some fine-nose pliers.

If that doesn't fix it, you probably need to replace the pot. Check all the ground connections first though.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• DeijavooDeijavoo Frets: 3299
    Cheers mate. So what is the script with this 50s wiring? A guy I know replaced all his on his 335 and despite being a pain in the arse he reckons it's made an excellent difference, somewhat brightens the tone apparently.
  • Adam_MDAdam_MD Frets: 3420
    edited November 2015
    Deijavoo;857632" said:
    Cheers mate. So what is the script with this 50s wiring? A guy I know replaced all his on his 335 and despite being a pain in the arse he reckons it's made an excellent difference, somewhat brightens the tone apparently.