Any Motörbike riders here?

What's Hot

Comments

• AK99AK99 Frets: 1641
    ^ Apologies - Rocket Ron was on a current works 500 GP bike in that, one of the proper fire-breathing beasts :)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FosterFoster Frets: 1100
    I started learning a just before lockdown, did my CBT, got a little 125 and found it somewhat difficult to get to grips with, though i gained a bit more confidence riding around on my own.

I then re-did my CBT, passed my theory with no problems and asked my instructor about doing the direct access course. The conversation was very much "I do 4 day and 3 day courses, up to you which one you do.". I eventually signed up for the 4 day course.

What a horrible experience.

We did a bit of the off-road section on a school playground, told how easy it was and you can do it one-handed (which he demonstrated a couple of times), the other rider asked which bay is best to park (as you have to manually handle it to the other and then go through the slalom) and the instructors response was "I don't give a fuck which one you park in". He spent most of time ranting about how he hates teaching people who can't ride a motorbike and how he throws people off the CBT.

I found the bike very, very different to my 125 (footpegs further back so a different seating position, front brake really keen, etc). Struggled with the u-turn but got there after a few goes. When we went to a known side-road to try the faster stuff i managed to come off the bike during a u-turn. The response from my instructor was to shout and belittle me, ranting about how i'll have to pay for every repair no matter how minor it was.

At that point I left the course, I didn't get any money back but at that point i no longer cared. The thought of getting on my 125 no longer appealed to me and i've recently sold it.
    0reaction image LOL 4reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Moe_ZambeekMoe_Zambeek Frets: 3446