Help me get started...........

BlueingreenBlueingreen Frets: 2596
edited December 2015 in Studio & Recording
I want to get a home studio started from scratch.  The main reason is a band I used to be a songwriter in wants to reform, but there will be difficulties getting everyone together in the same room regularly enough to write and arrange new material so the hope is we can do a lot of the preliminary work via demos.

I have no experience of home recording and am mildly technophobic (or more accurately a bit techno-hopeless).

I do have some decisions already made:

For reasons not related to this project I'd prefer a Dell PC.  I don't know much about which models are best for music though.

I will be buying some version of Ableton Live, because a fellow band member is using that and will help me get started.  I don't know if I should start with intro with a view to upgrading later or move straight to a fuller version.

I know I need speakers and an audio interface but I don't know anything about which ones to buy.

I'm confused about Midi, which I've never used.  Will I need a keyboard as a Midi controller?  (I have no keyboard skills).  Which one should I get?

Budget:  is reasonably flexible but I need to be a bit cost-sensitive because my concern is I fail to make real headway and it ends up gathering dust in the corner of a room.

Any advice very much appreciated.

“To a man with a hammer every problem looks like a nail.”
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1634
    edited December 2015

You lakky BOY! One of the best interfaces ever made, the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 is presently available for just £139 (till Jan 1 I think)