Advice on Controller Keyboard

I'm just getting into computer recording and fancy a midi keyboard to record some chord and arpeggio based backing tracks. I'm a complete novice at computer recording but can play the piano a bit. Any recommendations on a basic and cheap (sub-£100) keyboard? I used to have both a Moog and a Roland synthesiser in the 80s and fancy reliving that experience (or most of it), so suggestions for software plug-ins also welcome.

Pointers to on-line or written resources would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• kinkin Frets: 1015
    I bought a Roland A49 seems pretty good to me but I am very inexperienced in this area.

It worked with very little messing straight out of the box and feels nice to play.

• spark240spark240 Frets: 2086
    Used Novation Impulse or Nektar, both decent and affordable.

Mac Mini M1
    Presonus Studio One V5
     https://www.studiowear.co.uk/ -
     https://twitter.com/spark240
     Facebook - m.me/studiowear.co.uk
    Reddit r/newmusicreview 
  • SargeSarge Frets: 2426
    The Novation semi weighted boards are nice, usually with plenty of controllers, knobs, faders and xy touchpads etc, I have an early Remote 25 (25 key} board and its a breeze to use with patches for loads of vsti plugins.
  • SporkySporky Frets: 28508
    edited January 2016
    Sorry to spam a bit, but I have an M-Audio Keystation 49e (ie 49 keys) in the Classifieds that has served me well for some years.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
  • ChrisRGChrisRG Frets: 55
    I was in exactly the same position as you before Xmas and I got bought an M-Audio Keystation 49.  It's well under £100, has 49 full size keys and seems to do the basics.  I'm not a keyboard player and just wanted it to play in chords, drums etc.  The keys aren't weighted but I doubt you'd get that for under a ton.