Point me to a Learning Resource

What's Hot
The trouble with not working over xmas is that I invariably find another way of spending money on guitar gear. This year it's getting into computer recording. So I've bought a Komplete Audio 6 interface and have loaded the software that came with it. My son has told me to use Reaper which is what he uses. He demoed it but me being old not much of it sunk in.

So can anybody point me to a good learning resource which will take me from complete novice to a reasonable level and is accessible to someone who is technologically challenged?

Thanks in advance and some trepidation as I have a feeling this is going to get expensive!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Im afraid I don't know of any formal "learning resource" but I would echo your son's comments re. reaper. Its great programme and there are tonnes and tonnes of youtube videos people have done showing you pretty much anything that you need to know.
    How very rock and roll
  • dean2371dean2371 Frets: 139
    Thanks. Any good websites, books etc or is Youtube my friend?
  • markvmarkv Frets: 460
    I started on this journey a few months ago too. I think there's learning how to do recording, and learning how to use the chosen recording tool (i.e. Reaper in your case, and mine).

One of the things I found is that a lot of tutorials assume you know something about the general recording techniques and/or terminology being discussed, and are mainly interested in how you achieve this technique in Reaper. Which is of limited help when you don't understand what they're talking about!