Techniques for rhythm guitar

What's Hot
I've never been that bothered by lead guitar playing.  I'm the rhythm guitarist in my band and leave all the solos to our other guitarist.

I've never had any guitar tuition so I'm not good with technical knowledge.  Are there any particular techniques or practice routines that are good for just really nailing down rhythm playing?

Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Palm mutes, fret hand mutes and pinch harmonics
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
  • And alternate picking
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16304
    edited January 2016
    Any particular style? I'd cheerfully recommend the Ross Bolton tutorials on YouTube. Very dated looking and quite dull really yet he breaks down the 16th note strumming. A lot you can apply to blues, reggae, pop, etc, and understanding how to mix in muted strums to create rhythms and develop a more relaxed and fluid rhythm style.
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • CHrisP86CHrisP86 Frets: 360
    edited January 2016
    Thanks for the suggestions.

The band play the usual rock/blues pub covers.  Just me playing is usually, at the moment, a combination of AC/DC riffs (and the more basic fills/solos) and then old drop D emo/metal riffs.
  • nickpnickp Frets: 183
    edited January 2016
    why not start by learning some chic/nile rogers tunes?  good for the 16th note strumming, and then go from there.  plenty of tutorials on the net - eric blackmon on you tube isn't bad - it goes through it a bit slowly but good and covers a number of songs 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16304