Using Ear and becoming better

What's Hot
Hey

I thought this might be a good subject for people to talk about there experiences.

I have been playing for about 15 years and where I have either had guitar lessons or studying at music college. Most of which has been reading TAB!

My ear is no where near as good as i like and i still find it amazing how people can hear certain things and work it out straight away. 

I can pick out certain things soon...chords can be a difficulty. It could even be a chord progression that I have learnt before, I sometimes can hear it before i work it out.

For lead playing I know where my "safe notes" are, licks and tricks, what scales to use over certain genres and grooves. But i have spent so much time learning scales up and down, reading tab, melodies don't come out that easily! If i'm playing lead only sometimes i really connect with what i'm doing. Its hard for me to say feel like i meant that solo to come out like that..because thats what i was imagining in my head before playing it. Usually it is a bunch of stuff that doesn't flow as well when i hear other guys solo.

Is this a case of just keep working on developing ear, transcribing solos, imagine and write the chord progression out before picking up the guitar first? 

Am i on my own on this?  
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10496

If you learn to recognize your intervals your generally be able to work things out quite quickly by ear. By interval I'm referring to the distance from one note to another in any given scale. These are common examples

Starting on a C note 

C   C     D     C  
    Happy - Birthday  ..... That's one tone between the C and D

Hea  vy boots of lead
    C     D#   .... that first interval is a tone and a  half or what we call a minor third