Is it just me or are in ear earphones shockingly bad?

What's Hot
I'm joining a gym this weekend to train fire a triathlon and as my normal headphones are big over ear Marshall efforts I thought I'd better get some in ears instead for that purpose. I'm not an audio expert with much knowledge in this area, but the Marshall over ears sound good for me and suit the music I'm listening to. So I went to Curry's, remembered there the problem with in ears is that you can't ever try the things, but found some AKG branded ones (and it said Harman on the back, which my HiFi is at home) for £30 which when I Googled them What HiFi gave then a decent review.

Tried them this morning with a familiar album to see how they got on. They sound exactly the same as every other pair of in ears I've ever used, ranging from £8 ones up to £60 ones - the only way I can think to describe them is they sound like the radio playing in a warehouse without the reverb. The little iPod nano I use for exercise

How much do I have to pay for a decent pair that don't sound absolute shit?
Please note my communication is not very good, so please be patient with me
soundcloud.com/thecolourbox-1
youtube.com/@TheColourboxMusic
1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• paulnb57paulnb57 Frets: 3073
    I'd like some that don't fall out! Grrrr!
    Stranger from another planet welcome to our hole - Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock 'n' roll

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • SporkySporky Frets: 28708
    The main problem is that you have teeny tiny little drivers in there. The second problem, in my view, is that AKG have never made headphones that sound good.

That said I've always found the Sennheiser CX300s good enough for the application. A little fragile perhaps, but they sound acceptable.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom