Bureaucracy

What's Hot
TeetonetalTeetonetal Frets: 7815
edited February 2016 in Off Topic
Is anything in life more wearisome than bureaucracy? 

I've been rejected for permanent Swiss permit on the grounds that neither myself or my wife speaks german. This resounding judgement comes from neither of us having ever done a A2 Goethe exam.

So I have a degree in European History and German Language from the open university. I speak, read and write German fluently , work in German, have Swiss German friends etc. My wife works for the local council, all her work is in Swiss German and she is attending a swiss german language course of a higher level. Which is not recognized even though run by the council.

So, I have to fill out forms ( in German) talk to the migrations office (in German) register for exams (in German) all to prove I can do what the person in front of me is currently witnessing with their own eyes and ears. 

To put it into perspective, A2 is the language level equivalent of  "where's spot"

I understand why they do this, so as to set a level to help speed up applications, but I am surprised that having a degree in the language isn't accepted. 

This kind of thing could only be invented by humans. We do it world over.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SambostarSambostar Frets: 8745
    edited February 2016
    Really?  It wouldn't happen in the UK. I remember going to my Dad's Citizen inauguration at the Town Hall.  Half of them couldn't speak English nor read the card and needed prompting.
    Backdoor Children Of The Sock
  • If you've never experienced red tape in the UK, then you have led a charmed life. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • Flagged for having not first run the content past the mods via PM for approval prior to posting.
    5reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33846