drum track - anyone done this .....

What's Hot
For a lot of my music that I record, I just whack out a drum track on my electronic kit. I am no drummer but it is in keeping with the rest of my playing on other instruments!

Anyway, I'm trying to learn this old prog instrumental, and the drumming is more dynamic than I could ever hope to achieve. I'm not saying that it is brilliant, just something I'm not going to be able to reproduce with a couple of sticks.

I was wondering about painstakingly trying to recreate it via a keyboard, tapping individual notes into a sequencer. Does anyone around here do that sort of thing? I have heard great results in the past but as a newbie I can imagine it sounding terrible.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• joeyowenjoeyowen Frets: 4025
    A lot of programmed sound shit because they are always exactly on beat at the same velocity.

Velocity plays a biiiiig part and you will naturally do it with a keyboard generally.

It's doable, but it won't be fun
  • It strikes me that you'd be better off getting a rough version together by playing in what you can on the electronic kit, and then editing to add in everything you missed.
    <space for hire>
  • stratman3142stratman3142 Frets: 2197
    edited February 2016
    I do most of my drum programming by entering the beats with my mouse into a midi grid (which in my case is in Reaper, but all DAWS have that option).  I fiddle with the velocities a lot to make it sound as human as possible. Most good drum VSTis have multi layer velocities.

I generally use Addictive Drums or Steven Slate Drums, but MT Power Drum Kit 2 is a good free drum VSTi.
    http://www.powerdrumkit.com/

I usually start with 2 bar sequences. Once I've got the basic grooves, I copy and paste them. Then I go through adding subtle variations and fills.