Amp advice needed - come on the good people of The Fretboard

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• I'd buy an HRD or a Twin (if I was feeling strong). Having owned both a Mustang and a Blackstar ID both would be a massive step down in terms of live tone. 

For recording either buy a load box like a Jet City Jettenuator and use some cab plugins (Two Notes for example) or just don't bother recording through an amp at all and use Scuffham S-Gear which to my ears beats anything else I've tried including Axe FX. 
    Cheers monquixote - 

I am a self taught guitarist and home recorder - I've never heard of these load boxes before. I'll have a look into them. Do they offer a true reflection of the amps tone? 

I am happy using amp modelling software - i stated this thread as I am upgrading my stage amp and wondered if I could find a nice clean one that could also go straight into my audio interface (that valve sound is hard to replicate with software)

I am thinking - 
    1 - Roland JC40 - nice clean tone and can go into audio interface 
    2 - Fender Machette
    3 - Fender reverb or other nice valve amp and amp modelling software 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Curve ball - as it was marketed as a high gain monster (which it can do), but a Fender Machete?  It can be abnything BUT a high gain amp if you want it to be.

The Clean channel is really quite nice and can do bright clean very well - and with a switchable boost, would probably do everything you need right there.  The drive channel while marketed as high gain, can do a good low gain tone too with the pre low down.

50W all valve amp, so plently of clean volume, and it has a direct out with cab emulation, and a mute switch for silent recording - so would cover that recording need perfectly.