DSL40C vs 1974x

What's Hot
I'm just getting into valve amps and don't understand stuff like: why does a 1974x cost at least twice as much as a DSL40C?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• AdamskiAdamski Frets: 1278
    Made in Britain vs made in China
    Ones a reissue of a classic 70's amp with some nice custom grills, the other is a fuzzy piece of shite (IMO).
    1reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Hi @Adamski, thanks for your comment.

Just looking at the specification, they are both boxes with valves, wires, resistors etc and speakers. The specifications are not so far apart, so what is it that makes one good and the other a "fuzzy piece of shite"?

I'm not doubting the value of your opinion, I'm just trying to understand where the quality of the sound comes from so I can avoid building or buying a "fuzzy piece of shite".

Thanks, John
    I'm sure the DSL sounds ok to some people, I tried one and at first it seemed alright, typical Marshall growl always brings a smile to your face. Then I turned it up and it lost lots of clarity and started to flub quite badly in the low end, giving a very thin and shrill sound.

The 1974 is a much cleaner amp. It's made in the uk and seems to be made to a much higher quality (whether it is or not I have no idea). When you turn it up it distorts nicely and adds dynamics while remaining quite glassy.

Sure they may have the same type of components but it's a bit like saying that a Toyota Aygo and a Ferrari both have an engine. By no means am I a cost or tone snob but to me the made in UK reissue Marshalls sound waaaaaaaaay better than the Chinese ones.
    I will say though that if it's your first valve amp you could do worse than the DSL. Also, all ears and tastes are different so like anything, the way you're gonna know what's good and what's not to your ears is to play lots and lots and lots of amps.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72888