whats everyone using for PA's these days?

What's Hot
benmurray85benmurray85 Frets: 1396
Ive always pieced together bits second hand from eBay and had some decent results (more luck than management!) but it looks as though I've landed myself in a band again. We are going for a pro setup, sound, appearance etc and looks like I've been tasked with PA duties.

Just wondered whats decent yet still a reasonable price. Im not a technical expert (specs etc) will need good monitoring and might look at using subs. Might also consider putting the whole band through it, something I've never done before but why not eh!?

anyways give me a shout with any suggestions
How very rock and roll
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10413

HK Actor DX for main band, EV SX for another. Mackie SRM for another, some ancient Peavey speakers and amp for another, Bose L2 for acoustic band
    Monitoring wise Shure IEM's 
    With all bands everything is mic'ed up and through the PA

The cheap Mackie SRM450  Mk 1's tops and 18" bins are actually ok for cheap PA on a budget. 
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
  • benmurray85benmurray85 Frets: 1396
    @Danny1969 how do you get on with the in ears? Ive always been dead against them, i have tried!! Im not singing in this new band though so I'm thinking of forcing them on the other guys to ease stage volume! 
    How very rock and roll
    I have used them for around six years now wouldn't use any other form of monitoring by choice. I have an In ear mix in stereo that I can adjust from my phone and the clarity is amazing.

I always struggled with monitor wedges I could never seem to hear them well enough

Also with doing around 100 gigs a year minimum I need to look after my ears a bit and low on stage volume and in ear monitors is one way to do this

Highly recommended
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
  • benmurray85benmurray85 Frets: 1396
    Thank you Danny
    How very rock and roll