Is this really a 1983 Fullerton Strat?

What's Hot
ModellistaModellista Frets: 2041
edited March 2016 in Guitar

It just looks a bit too normal and clean to me.  This page says in 1983 they were only making the cheapo Standards with one tone and the jack on the scratchplate.  The earlier Smith versions have the big curvy STRATOCASTER logo and truss rod adjustment at the body end.

Any thoughts?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• musicman100musicman100 Frets: 1739
    modellista;71921" said:
    All Black 1983 USA Fender Stratocaster (made in Fullerton plant USA) £650

It just looks a bit too normal and clean to me.  This page says in 1983 they were only making the cheapo Standards with one tone and the jack on the scratchplate.  The earlier Smith versions have the big curvy STRATOCASTER logo and truss rod adjustment at the body end.

Any thoughts?
    I'm no fender expert but regarding you saying it looks to normal n clean. I have guitars from the 60s that looks that clean so can't see that been an issue.

• thebreezethebreeze Frets: 2805
    I'm no expert either.  Did they use the vintage style bridge saddles in 1983?  I've seen the flatter ones used on guitars from this era.
  • thebreezethebreeze Frets: 2805
    Ooops - looking at your page they obviously did.
  • ModellistaModellista Frets: 2041
    thebreeze said:
    Ooops - looking at your page they obviously did.
    The bridge is one of the things that doesn't look correct for the period.
  • impmannimpmann Frets: 12668
    It could be legit.

They did make some 'normal' Strats before going down that dodgy road of the jack socket on the plate in 1983. A mate has a Precision with an "E" serial that is one of the finest bases I have ever heard or played.
    Never Ever Bloody Anything Ever.

• JCA2550JCA2550 Frets: 439
    The "E3" serial number should place this 1983 -1985 US made. At least the neck is I'm pretty sure?

• GuitarMonkeyGuitarMonkey Frets: 1883