New to fuzz - Best fuzz for Hendrix (White Atom any good?)

What's Hot
Jonathanthomas83Jonathanthomas83 Frets: 3476
edited May 2016 in FX
As the title says, I'm new to fuzz and like what Gary Clarke Jr does on "You Saved Me" (), what Bellamy does for Muse, QOTSA and most of all Jimi's stuff (important)...ooh and Gilmours early stuff (obviously!) like Pompeii era.

Intrigued by the White Atom and if it'll cover all those bases? If not, do you have any recommendations? Cost isn't an issue but I'm not much into buying original fuzz faces or vintage stuff, I prefer new gear and modern gear.

Gary Clarke Jr uses the Astro Tone Fuzz from Analogman but it's kind of specific and I want a more rounded and versatile fuzz. Also can do without importing anything from Analogman tbh.

Cheers
Read my guitar/gear blog at medium.com/redchairriffs

View my feedback at www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/comment/1201922
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• simonksimonk Frets: 1467
    edited May 2016
    The White Atom is excellent and a good place to start your fuzz journey as it's pretty versatile and relatively unfussy as to where you stick it signal chain wise. You won't cover all the bases you mentioned in your original post with it though, although you should be able to get close enough to whet your appetite.

It will do the Hendrix silicon fuzz face stuff well.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Thanks @simonk, I'm definitely intrigued to try it. In terms of good places to start for Hendrix, do you have any better recommendations?

• EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16301
    Dunlop mini Hendrix fuzz face? That should be pretty Hendrixy. B-)
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • simonksimonk Frets: 1467
    Jonathanthomas83;1081808" said: