Applecare for Mac, is it worth it?

What's Hot
I have until the end of the week to extend the Applecare on our 2015 MacBook Pro's, but is it worth doing at £199 a pop?

Any experience out there :)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72415
    How expensive and/or annoying would it be to fix one of them if it breaks down in the next two years?

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• JezWyndJezWynd Frets: 6083
    I've been using Macs for 25 years and apart from my first, a Performa 5300, I've never bothered with it. Macs are usually very reliable and any issues are likely to show up soon after purchase ime. That said, it paid off with that first machine - it was an all in one affair and the monitor cable deteriorated due to heat from the screen (pre lcd days) and was replaced free of charge. I've never bothered since though and never had any issues, and this with machines running motion graphics renders constantly.

But then again - peace of mind is priceless. You choose.
  • stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 27105
    If you move them around a lot and/or if it's critical for work that you have them working, then I'd say yes. 

If they sit on a desk and only get used for social stuff, then probably not.

I didn't bother with mine 2 years ago (not least because we didn't yet have Apple stores in the UAE when I bought it) and the only issue I've had is a delaminating screen coating which Apple fixed last week (for free, in 12 hours, out of warranty - very good!). So I'm very happy with my decision not to bother. That said, I have it insured properly on both contents and travel policies, so I'm covered there for accidental damage.