Epic fails?

What's Hot
blacknblackblacknblack Frets: 42
edited July 2016 in Live
I played a small public(!) gig with the band today.  Rehearsal / sound check was promising.   Gig was a disaster.   Set list had me playing high gain lead tune in between clean ish rhythm numbers.  Well that was the plan.  What I found of course, when I launched bravely into the lead riff was that I couldn't in a hurry dial in the right gain/vol/master/guitar vol - nowhere f'ing near.  Hideously embarrassing and then panic just stopped the fingers from functioning at all.  too many flaming settings on the amp - I now get what the f*** pedals are for.  Dumbass.  Feel free to take the piss (I am a beginner though), offer some advice or cheer me up by sharing stories of your own defeats.   
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MayneheadMaynehead Frets: 1782
    Wow, you actually tried to fiddle with your amp mid song? You are indeed brave. I have trouble just stomping on more than 1 pedal at a time!

sounds like you need a channel switching amp, or a boost/distortion pedal, or ideally, both. You can boost the clean channel to get crunch, and boost the dirty channel to get lead, giving you 4 instant tones at your fingertips (or toes as it may be).
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Si_Si_ Frets: 384
    edited July 2016
    OK.. adjusting an amp setting mid song is just really stupid mate.. it's never going to work.. Learn to use  your volume control or change amps, or use a boost. It was always going to be a failure..

Sorry to be harsh.

Is this how you were doing it in Rehearsal?

Generally you want to make your life as easy as possible when playing live, first, so things don't go wrong, and secondly so you can enjoy yourself more :)

• BahHumbugBahHumbug Frets: 350
    ...and don't just bang together a set list and assume it will work. Test everything in practice/rehearsal, not during the gig.