iPhone to amp?? - help please.

What's Hot
acresfieldacresfield Frets: 0
hi all, 
complete newbie here. I have searched and cannot find the answer I am looking for so please excuse me if this is a dumb or already answered question. 
I have just bought my first 'grown up' amp. As in, it's not a bedroom practice amp. I have the fender bassbreaker 15 and whilst I love it I am finding that I am wishing it had a line in so that I could jam over songs. Is this something that is easy to do? A media converter or indeed just a cable with adaptor into the fx return? I don't fancy sacrificing either my phone or the amp by just giving it a go! Is there anybody with an easy solution to this. Many thanks

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1639

You can't use the FX return since, although it will play through the amp (maybe very loudly!) you will break the link to the pre amp that gives you your guitar.

You could use a small outboard mixer* such as the Behringer X802 similar but a simpler solution would be to just use a completely separate active PC speaker system (or a hi fi rig)

*The mixer idea has other possibilities. Headphone output e.g. This would allow you to turn down the Fender's master volume and have totally silent practice. In fact Allen and Heath have just released a new clutch of mixers and one has 24 bit 2 ch recording via USB. The mixers also have a hi Z input option. HOW LONG has it taken the project mixer industry to wake up to that one?

But I am surprised no one AFAIK markets a simple, passive iThang "injector/mixer" for this purpose?

Dave.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72673
    A Boss LS-2 pedal in the FX loop will work as a small mixer (and is useful for loads of other things too). Connect the amp's FX send to the pedal's Return A, the iPhone to Return B, the pedal output to the amp's FX return, and set to 'AB Mix'.