Mixing Valve Brands?

What's Hot
BellycasterBellycaster Frets: 5867
Total Noob Valve question, but hey ho!

Is it best to stick to the same Brand of Valves in the pre amp section. I know a 12ax7 is a 12ax7, but there may be things unknown to me.

Say, if your amp came with all JJ's and you swap one out, could you put in a Mesa or a Sovtek etc. Typical tightwad question I guess, can you put in something cheaper, or not tightwad, can you put in something that is superior?

I know Output Valves are matched, so the question doesn't apply to those.

Thanks.
Only a Fool Would Say That.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MayneheadMaynehead Frets: 1782
    Switch and swap as much as you like, in fact it's encouraged not to use the same brand valves all the way down as that will just serve to exaggerate the characteristics (good or bad) of that valve, which will not usually yield the best tone.

Just make sure that you only use 12ax7 types and you will be fine. Note that a lot of brands are simply relabels of valves made by other manufacturers. E.g. Mesa don't make their own valves so they are all relabelled JJ, Sovtek or Chinese valves. They may undergo more levels of screening but essentially they sound the same as their original counterparts, at much inflated prices.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72675
    Not using all the same brand is just as much of a matter of taste as anything else. Many amps sound great/best with just one brand of valves - I find it often gives a more distinct and consistent sound. Not always, though.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• BellycasterBellycaster Frets: 5867
    Thanks @Maynehead ;