NPD! Pigdog Professional Mk II

What's Hot
wellsyboywellsyboy Frets: 453
So - I finally managed to find a mark 2 - got it home today and it didn't sound great - petty sure it's the heat and the transistor combination - it was a hot day today and I used the pedal upstairs in my den - upstairs stays hot in the evening after a hot day - probably got close to 30 degrees - the pedal sounded intermittently spitty and faded on held chords/notes - battery tested fine - because I'm new to fuzz I haven't experienced heat effects on transistors so am a little concerned - I believe from what I read that steve's pedals are really stable - just wondered what kind of temperatures would normally cause this?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7771
    edited August 2016
    The spitty thing on fading out chords is a typical fuzz thing depending where the bias of the transistor is set and if its a bit too low. Is it adjustable? If its a Germ fuzz then let it cool before trying again, might be worth sending an email if it then still sounds off.  

If you are new to fuzz then you might also be trying to use it too moderately. Fuzzes sound best with the gain past 1 o clock, when you learn to use it with that level of gain then your brain "gets" that it's how you are supposed to use it and it adjusts accordingly and starts sounding sounding normal.
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • wellsyboywellsyboy Frets: 453
    thanks for the info - just tried it again now room is cooler - just the same cuts in and out quite badly - got a new 1.8 solid state by the same builder and didn't do it at all even earlier when it was hotter - think I ay have a problem with the pedal  :/
  • ThorpyFXThorpyFX Frets: 6189
    tFB Trader
    Put it in the fridge for an hour and try it again. This'll confirm if it's temperature that's causing the bias to shift.