Mastering home recordings.......?

What's Hot
Apologies if there is already a thread on this subject somewhere. I didn't find it.

I've been doing bits of home recording for about 6 years now.  I don't have fabulous gear or treated rooms or whatever, but I've picked up and developed new skills and most importantly, I've enjoyed it.

However, 'mastering' remains a bit of a mystery to me.  I get the impression that it is mainly concerned with achieving a tonal balance (with EQ) and adjusting the dynamic range (with compression and limiting) - this can be for a single track, or across several tracks of an album.
But that's really as far as my knowledge goes, so can anyone enlighten me?  I guess I'm looking for clarification of the basic point of mastering, but also in what techniques, tools and strategies folks use to acheive it.

......and my interest is really from the point of learning, so "send it to a mastering engineer" is not a good answer.

ta
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I've got a book called Mastering Audio by Bob Katz that seems to be pretty good. That's the best advice I can give.

I haven't really got my head around mastering either. I'm a bit of a philistine and mastering to me mainly consists of putting Voxengo Elephant on the master track to make it louder, plus maybe some EQing with IK Tracks CS Prog EQ 1A which gives some tracks an extra something.

I make decisions about about the mix as I go along and try to be selective about the frequency space and time space occupied by the instruments/parts so it doesn't all mush together, but I feel I need to learn more about mastering, so I'm interested in this thread as well.
    It's not a competition.
  • AdjiAdji Frets: 142
    tFB Trader
    Mastering is a proper black art, a lot of mastering seems very secretive.