Beginning recording for dummies............

What's Hot
O.k. I've been writing a bit of my own stuff just lately and I'd like to be able to record more than one track onto something. I don't need absolutely top quality - it's not stuff that's ever going to be sent off to anyone, just bugging me that I have some ideas which require a backing track and then something else over the top. Not necessarily vocals at this stage which would require a third track. It's just on an acoustic guitar, which does have a pre-amp which I've never used.

I've read through pages of stuff in this section, but most of it seems to assume a reasonable working knowledge of the subject, which I don't have.

Can anyone recommend a way for me to do this which is pretty simple to understand for a complete beginner?

The equipment I have to hand is a couple of electro-acoustics, one cable for connection to an amp, a Macbook, iPad and iPhone.

No amp or any recording software. Not sure if I should go down the amp route with bundled software, something like a THR5a perhaps or whether there is anything else more suitable. I'd like to keep the sound as close to the original acoustic sound as possible.

Any basic advice would be greatly appreciated. Assume I know absolutely nothing about the subject, which is true. I'm reasonably technically competent with computers.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• paul_c2paul_c2 Frets: 410
    I'm about 2 days ahead of you so I won't be much help but I'll be keenly following this topic for tips. My situation is slightly different because its an electric guitar (and bass), I already have an amp, and I have a Wintel machine not a Mac.
  • steamabacussteamabacus Frets: 1268
    edited August 2016
    I can think of two approaches -