Any left handers playing guitar right handed?

What's Hot

Comments

• EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16294
    AuldReekie;126928" said:
    I'm a lefty who plays right, mainly because when I started playing in the 60s, there were few options for left handers, even less in the Black Isle where I was brought up. Quite happy as a lefty who plays right, but on the odd drunken "air guitar" moment, I am still naturally left handed
    Yeh but you had dolphins. Everybody loves dolphins. :ar!
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • I'm another lefty playing right handed. Right handed guitars just felt more natural than lefties. Also when starting out I found using my stronger, more dexterous hand to hold the chords meant quicker progression; especially compared with my mates that were struggling to build up the strength and co-ordination in their weaker hand.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • HAL9000HAL9000 Frets: 9673
    edited January 2014
    Two others are Wilko Johnson and Joe Strummer.

My understanding is that Wilko actually learnt left handed but then taught himself right handed due to the difficulty of obtaining left-handed instruments.

I believe Joe Strummer was taught by a right-hander and no concession was made to Joe's left handedness. I've heard (but don't know the truth of it) that he later regretted not learning left handed and came to believe that this restricted him as a guitarist. The 'Strummer' moniker was apparently adopted (again, I don't the truth of it) as a constant (and very public) dig to his tutor for not teaching him left handed.
    I play guitar because I enjoy it rather than because I’m any good at it
  • monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17609
    tFB Trader
    I too am a lefty who plays righty.