DIY blood pressure monitors?

What's Hot
I had a hospital appt last week and my blood pressure was measured at 185/115. The nurse said I should keep an eye on it and as I hate going to the docs wondered about doing it myself. There's loads on amazon - anyone got any recommendations/experience?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TimmyOTimmyO Frets: 7509
    Mine was measured at 224/168 when it was first caught (I now take lots of drugs for it!)

I bought an apparently 'good' one but it never matched the Doc's readings - I think the cuff might have been the wrong size.

In the end I got the Withings one that bluetooths to your phone - expensive but easy to use. 
    Red ones are better. 
  • GizmoGizmo Frets: 1078
    Check out last weeks "Trust me im a doctor" on the BBC

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b07v3pwk

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b07v3pwk/trust-me-im-a-doctor-series-5-episode-2

They did a round up of home BPM's and checked them against calibrated medical equipment.

• martmart Frets: 5205
    I was just watching something about this on "Trust me I'm a doctor" on Iplayer the other day, and they said they'd tested some blood pressure monitors to see which were accurate and which were not. They said they had links on their website about good monitors, but the best I can find is this:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/1C4RhtHrg4n73gkkn1mpRs1/should-i-monitor-my-blood-pressure-at-home

Of course, you might still find it on Iplayer to watch.
  • Wifey has white-coat-syndrome and generally refuses to get it checked with nurse
  • paul_c2paul_c2 Frets: 410
    The key words you want to see on the packaging or marketing info is "Clinically Validated". The very cheapest ones from the likes of Asda, Boots etc won't be, but the next model up probably will be, and don't cost that much more.
  • richardhomerrichardhomer Frets: 24834
    edited September 2016
    I use an Omron - same as most doctors use.