Self employment - where to start?

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    edited September 2016
    What accounting software do you recommend?

At the moment I do a manual spreadsheet that I pull all Palpal, credit cards, BACs into which takes me a couple of days.
    I use Quicken simply becaue I've been using it since 1993. It works, but badly, I have to run in in a Virtual Machine (Windows XP Mode) to get it to run, but both banks that I've been with (HSBC and Santander) offer .qif as a download option.

If I had to use a current app  I'd probably use QuickBooks, but I do hate renting software, I'd prefer to pay upfront and keep it as long as I want.  And having all your accounts data in the cloud seems completely unnecessary and would worry me a lot. Software companies are getting arrogant and greedy. For a Self_Employed person to have to spend £5 a month for accounting software where previously you would buy the application for £150 or so and it would last you 5 years, is galling.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • GrunfeldGrunfeld Frets: 4040
    edited September 2016
    FYI, I shot my first 5 weddings free of charge.  Although they were for friends and I insisted they hire someone professional if they want guaranteed results at least for the ceremony part.

@RaymondLin ;; and/ or any other photographers.  Who owns the wedding pics?
    A work colleague today said that her wedding was shot by a friend who is just starting out but charged mates's rates.

The photographer asked if he could use some of the pictures on his website, my colleague and her partner said no.  He asked again, my colleague didn't get back to him -- and the next thing is that she sees her pics on his website. 

The photographer has definitely gone against the couple's wishes in using their photographs and is coming out with the line that his business is in Singapore so it won't make any difference to the English couple.