Another 'I want to be a coder' thread

What's Hot
So like @holnrew I'd often think that I'd be a decent coder. I've got some experience with Python, LUA, and C#, but I'm a long way off being able to do it for employment. But when I do do it, I really like the sense of achievement you get when you crack a problem.

But what I really lack is focus and direction. Because I don't have a set of jobs to do, I just stare at VS and my mind draws a blank. How do other coders overcome this?

Are there any training routes I should explore? Bearing in mind I just had a child and I'm drowning in mortgage repayments - can't afford to go back to uni !
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• holnrewholnrew Frets: 8207
    Make a sexbot
    My V key is broken
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Drew_TNBDDrew_TNBD Frets: 22445
    holnrew said:
    Make a sexbot
    Japanese have already done it!
  • xSkarloeyxSkarloey Frets: 2962
    edited September 2016
    These people were exhibiting at New Scientist Live the other day.

I didn't speak to them but your thread has reminded me that I saw them.

Makers Academy. 'Learn to Code in 12 weeks' is the claim.

http://www.makersacademy.com/?utm_source=newscientist&utm_medium=website%20&utm_campaign=newscientist

edit: not cheap though!
  • TimmyOTimmyO Frets: 7437
    Make a thing.

If there's something you'd really like to have made, dig about and see what tech you think you'd be able to work out how to do it with and go that route initially. It'll be tough, so you need to feel like you'll definitely have a sense of achievement when you get there.

If that's making a shiny iOS app, get Swift and either Apple's own great documentation, or something like an Udemy course then see where that takes you