Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Can you learn drums without lessons?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• Dan86Dan86 Frets: 116
    Yes you can but lessons will speed up the process and teach good technique. 

I had snare lessons from aged 6, so been playing for 24 years. A few years of snare lessons, I had probably 5-10 lessons on a full kit, then the rest of my kit playing has been self taught.

Snare gave me a great start, learning rudiments is an excellent place to start and will really help the kit playing come more naturally once you're familiar with the snare. 

Obviously there are online lessons, youtube etc , all a great help, but nothing beats some 1-1 tuition. 

If you're anywhere near the Midlands then feel free to message me for a hand.

Dan
    My art/photography : http://danuk86.deviantart.com
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • mrkbmrkb Frets: 6911
    I agree with having lessons. I've been playing 18 months, and my tutor is great at analysing weaknesses and giving techniques/practice routines to fix them. If I was self taught I'd skip over any problems and my technique would be limited in the long term.
    Karma......
    Ebay mark7777_1
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • TimmyTimmy Frets: 23
    edited October 2016
    axisus said:
    I've picked up other instruments by myself, but drumming seems like a different beast, with tricky elements of precision, coordination, timing etc. 

Is it doable oneself or better to get going with help?

Hey axisus i teach and play drums for a living, here is my long-winded answer to your question