SCAMMER WARNING: Due to a spate of recent scam attempts (some successful) recently, if you're doing a deal in the classifieds, ONLY USE PAYPAL GOODS AND SERVICES UNLESS YOU KNOW THAT INDIVIDUAL PERSONALLY. It's really not worth saving a few quid.

Fretboarders with Gretsch G6136T or G6119T?

What's Hot
JonHoskerJonHosker Frets: 395
edited October 2016 in Guitars £
Thinking of buying a Gretsch semi -- would need to trade/sell my CS Strat, but need some advice as this would be a keeper. Had a Gibson 335 63RI that was great, but Bigsby needed for sure.
Ta
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• What do you mean by players models?
    Are you meaning the professional series guitars. 
  • JonHoskerJonHosker Frets: 395
    Think so - G6136T or G6119T look great - but I am new to this make. Anyone own one?
    Jon
  • JonHosker said:
    Think so - G6136T or G6119T look great - but I am new to this make. Anyone own one?

I own almost 20 of them so what do you waht to know?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • TheMarlinTheMarlin Frets: 7899
    Lots to chose from.  

Do you want a small or large body guitar.  Small would be LP size, Hollow, chambered, or centre block? For high gain, low gain, or clean work?

Bigsby or hard tail?

if hollow, how deep? 1 inch to 3+ Inches deep?

Pickups. Single coil twang, or humbucker grind/bite?  Underwound or hot output?

Colours. Muted, classic, of flashy? No bindibg, binding, sparkly binding... bound/unbound neck?

Timescale?

Anything specific you need/want/feature set? Neck profile? Fretboard radius?

General advice.  The budget streamlined series are good budget guitars, but not really much like any Gretsch gone before them. 
    The Electromatic's are good, but all require some fettling to become great. look for Electromatics with all the mods done, they are good used buys as upgrades do not get you any more money in the used market.