How can I improve my singing?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• SkippedSkipped Frets: 2371
    octatonic said:
    This misunderstands what having lessons does- which is to get you to harness what you have and do it safely.
    Singing is hard on the body- most singers I've worked with have had problems with their voice- the self taught ones seem to have more trouble than those who learn a bit of technique.

I think axisus should have lessons but he has absolutely ruled it out.
    He should reconsider.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SambostarSambostar Frets: 8745
    edited November 2016
    I wish Drew was around, he had a load of lessons and is an amateur authority on overcoming  it. 

But anyway, if you're not pushing any air, because you are too shy or whatever, then you'll never know what kind of voice you have or how to change the resonance or timbre of it.  It's kind of just like starting the guitar, I started by imitating and trying to emulate tones made by singers I felt were vaguely in my range and I worked out my range by starting on an E2 (Low E on the guitar) and going up a major scale with the guitar notes, the next E being an E3 and so on and also going down from E2.  The octave number, whatever it is changes on a C and is relative to middle C on a piano.  So C2 D2 E2 F2 G2 A2 B2 C3 D3 E3 etc.

I can't sing anything anyone else can but I know I've got something because women have complimented me on my voice?  Strange and when I sing and am not pissing about or at home and am actually pushing air, only one other bloke out of maybe 50 can hit the low notes I can belt out.  While it doesn't make me a good singer in the least, I'm useless,  Like I said I've met people who can sing lower and way higher with real volume, finding artists who are vaguely within your range helps and grabbing an acoustic helps you practice singing and helps with the reliability and muscle memory factor as well as your rhythm on the guitar.