Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Band practice etiquette

What's Hot
ricorico Frets: 1220
I've started rehearsing with a new band which is awesome and getting to play songs i've been writing is excellent fun. Looks like we have a gig or two lined up in the new year too. The drummer and bassist are great and shut up when required but the second guitarist seems to have no 'off' switch. Or understanding of volume. Or what too much treble/multi effects/gain means.

I am relatively new to this outfit which have been playing together loosely for a year or so but since joining they have all said how much better the band is sounding with the songs i've brought along.

We were recording the session last time for reference and analysis but he is playing over literally everything including intros, disussions etc. Most of it is just incoherent flange soaked multii effect 'distortion' but he does have his moments of genius. I've tried gently explaining what might be a good guitar part for him to play but my patience is wearing thin - how can I approach this? Our sessions are really productive but its painful when we can't hear ourselves discuss ideas.

Rant over!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• No playing while someone is talking rule. Discuss it, anyone reasonable should agree to it. Anyone who isn't is unreasonable, so that's the issue
  • merlinmerlin Frets: 6684
    He's probably pretty thick skinned. Less of the gentle might help because he might just be lacking a little direction and focus. 
  • ricorico Frets: 1220
    Thanks for the suggestions - I get the feeling that he doesn't practice much during the week so gets his noodling done during the rehearsals - will try to approach this next time.