Gumtree or Preloved?

What's Hot
What are your experiences of Gumtree and Preloved in selling/buying guitars and guitar-related items? Is Preloved worth bothering with? Is this VHS v Betamax of the online classifieds world? And what's with Gumtree's "Bump" fee of £3.95? One used to be able to edit and it would go straight to the top. Not anymore.

So bring it on. The good and the bad of the UK's two online classifieds....
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I've used preloved successfully quite a few times, you just need to be patient when selling stuff. 
  • merlinmerlin Frets: 6692
    I'm not very experienced with Preloved. Gumtree has proved quite successful although watch out for the scams. Don't respond to ANY text messages that claim to be from Gumtree and be careful that a LOT of people want to negotiate on selling price. Otherwise good. 
  • hotpothotpot Frets: 846
    I've used gumtree with success quite a few times  but the amount of time wasters is ridiculous i.e. arrange a time for them to come & collect/pay & they 'no show' Grr,  as biglicks said patience is needed.
  • VaiaiVaiai Frets: 530
    Don't rule out Reverb - I sold my Axis on there with no issues and cheaper fees than ebay. Plus it's just for musicians and ppl tend to know what they are talking about - less timewasters too. Gumtree is all about chancers and lowballers! Although with higher ticket items it's not so bad.
  • goldtopgoldtop Frets: 6158
    Yes, patience needed with Gumtree if you don't keep bumping. And it's slowly starting to cost (owned by Ebay, so no surprise there). Biggest annoyance is the low-ball offers.
  • ChalkyChalky Frets: 6811
    Gumtree is ok if you are very patient about how long it will take and don't get worked up by idiots who message you.